Nico Hulkenberg is back, Fernando Alonso has a seat for his 20thFormula 1 campaign and Logan Sargeant, Nyck de Vries and Oscar Piastri have one for their first.

The Bahrain Grand Prix is the first of a record 23 races in 2023, as fans turn out to see if anyone can depose reigning champion Max Verstappen and what looks to be a supremely fast Red Bull car.

Las Vegas makes its debut as the penultimate GP of the year, with a track structured around the city’s famous strip, while the Qatar Grand Prix returns after a hiatus in 2022.

Ferrari will be hoping that replacing error-prone team principal Mattia Binotto with ex-Alfa Romeo boss Fred Vasseur will provide them with the boost needed to match Verstappen and Sergio Perez, as they did at the start of the 2022 campaign.

Meanwhile, Mercedes seem convinced that the W14 will outperform its unfortunate predecessor, although pre-season testing has shown that this may not be the case.

More from Formula 1

What channel is F1 2023 on?

Every race this season will be available live and in full on Sky Sports F1 (channel 406) and Sky Sports Main Event (channel 401).

Sky will also be showing qualifying for every race on Sky Sports F1, and all their F1 coverage will also be accessible through the NOW TV app and website.

Highlights will also be available on Channel 4 in the UK, on a Saturday evening for qualifying and after the race on Sundays. Channel 4 also have the rights to show the British Grand Prix (9 July).

Full Bahrain GP schedule

  • Free practice 1: Friday 3 March, 11.30am Sky Sports F1
  • Free practice 2: Friday 3 March, 3pm, Sky Sports F1
  • Free practice 3: Saturday 4 March, 11.30am, Sky Sports F1
  • Qualifying: Saturday 4 March, 3pm, Sky Sports F1 (Highlights at 7.30pm on Channel 4)
  • Bahrain Grand Prix: Sunday 5 March, 3pm, Sky Sports F1 (Highlights at 9pm on Channel 4)

F1 schedule 2023

  • 5 March: Bahrain Grand Prix
  • 19 March: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix
  • 2 April: Australian Grand Prix
  • 30 April: Azerbaijan Grand Prix
  • 7 May: Miami Grand Prix
  • 21 May: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix
  • 28 May: Monaco Grand Prix
  • 4 June: Spanish Grand Prix
  • 18 June: Canadian Grand Prix
  • 2 July: Austrian Grand Prix
  • 9 July: British Grand Prix
  • 23 July: Hungarian Grand Prix
  • 30 July: Belgian Grand Prix
  • 27 August: Dutch Grand Prix
  • 3 September: Italian Grand Prix
  • 17 September: Singapore Grand Prix
  • 24 September: Japanese Grand Prix
  • 8 October: Qatar Grand Prix
  • 22 October: United States Grand Prix
  • 29 October: Mexico City Grand Prix
  • 5 November: Sao Paulo Grand Prix
  • 17 November: Las Vegas Grand Prix
  • 26 November: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

By admin