Winter Love Island contestants will be gearing up to face the public vote in the final, which will air tonight on ITV2 and ITVX at 9pm.

We’ve seen “originals” couple up only to separate. We’ve seen bombshells tear rifts in day-long love affairs that feel like decade-long marriages. We’ve had highs and we’ve had lows. But as they say, all good things must come to an end.

All that’s left before the contestants can start their new lives as minor celebrities is for Maya Jama to enter the villa and reveal which couple has triumphed in the eyes of public vote.

What is the Love Island prize?

The Love Island prize money stands at £50,000 for the winning couple, split evenly down the middle, unlike previous years when couples were given the chance to steal the money off their partner.

The four couples in the final, and with a shot of facing this life-changing choice, are:

  • Kai Fagan and Sanam Harrinanan
  • Ron Hall and Lana Jenkins
  • Tom Clare and Samie Elishi
  • Tayna Menhenga and Shaq Muhammad

More from Television

Why did they change the Love Island prize steal rule?

After convincing the public of their affections to the extent of winning the viewer’s vote, it would take someone very brave (or perhaps stupid?) to take the brutal step of pocketing the money themselves, thus throwing away a plethora advertising opportunities and reality TV appearances.

As a result, this never happened – despite the fact that some of the winners’ romances didn’t last particularly long after the series ended.

During their time on the show, it has previously been reported that the islanders earn £250 a week, with a 2019 parliamentary inquiry into reality TV calculating it at around £2.80 an hour.

However, the exposure that the show brings can be highly lucrative in the longer term, which means it pays to keep the public on side.

As well as the staple of sponsored Instagram posts and nightclub guest appearances, we’ve seen contestants crop up on the likes of Dancing on Ice and The X Factor: Celebrity, and spawn their own reality spin-offs in the case of ITV2’s You Vs. Chris & Kem.

Who are the past Love Island winners?

Here are all the winners of Love Island since it relaunched in 2015:

  • Series one winners: Jess Hayes and Max Morley
  • Series two winners: Cara De La Hoyde and Nathan Massey
  • Series three winners: Amber Davies and Kem Cetinay
  • Series four winners: Dani Dyer and Jack Fincham
  • Series five winners: Amber Gill and Greg O’Shea
  • Series six winners: Paige Turley and Finn Tapp
  • Series seven winners: Millie Court and Liam Reardon
  • Series eight winners:  Ekin-Su and Davide 

What time is the Love Island final tonight?

The final of the 2023 series of Love Island starts at 9pm on Monday 13 March on ITV2, with the special extended live episode lasting until 10.35pm.

You can watch live or on catch up online via the ITV Hub, which you can access on your phone, tablet, computer, Xbox and PlayStation consoles.

By admin