Oxford. Cambridge. A delightfully leafy stretch of the Thames. You know the rest.

England’s two most prestigious universities have been racing in The Boat Race since the USA was in its 40s, with Cambridge having won 85 of the men’s races, compared to Oxford’s 81.

The women’s race began in 1927 and Cambridge also lead that, with a more sizeable 46-30 advantage.

This year’s men’s race is a less star-studded event than the 2022 edition, which Oxford won by 2 1/4 lengths. There were nine Olympians across the two boats last time out, whereas none are competing this year.

That was Oxford’s first men’s victory since 2017, although none of the victorious crew return, except for chief coach Sean Bowden, who was been in charge since 1997.

This year’s competition takes place on Sunday 26 March and here’s everything you need to know about watching The Boat Race 2023.

How to watch The Boat Race 2023

All viewers in the UK can watch The Boat Race live on BBC One or stream it on BBC iPlayer, with coverage starting at 3.30pm and running until 5.45pm.

The Boat Race 2023 schedule

All times in BST

  • Women’s race – 4pm
  • Women’s reserve race – 4.15pm
  • Men’s reserve race – 4.30pm
  • Men’s race – 5pm

The Boat Race 2023 teams

Oxford Women’s Team

Bow: Laurel Kaye (Worcester), Claire Aitken (Oriel), Sara Helin (St. Peter’s), Ella Stadler (Exeter), Alison Carrington (Hertford), Freya Willis (Magdalen), Sarah Marshall (Jesus), Stroke: Esther Austin (St Anne’s), Cox: Tara Slade (St Peter’s)

Cambridge Women’s Team

Bow: Carina Graf (Emmanuel), Rosa Millard (Trinity Hall), Alex Riddell-Webster (Murray Edwards), Jenna Armstrong (Jesus), Freya Keto St (Edmund’s), Isabelle Bastian (Jesus), Claire Brillon (Fitzwilliam), Stroke: Caoimhe Dempsey (Newnham), Cox: James Trotman (Sidney Sussex)

Oxford Men’s Team

Bow: James Forward (Pembroke), Alex Bebb (St. Peter’s), Freddy Orpin (St. Catherine’s), Tom Sharrock (Magdalen), James Doran (Oriel), Jean-Philippe Dufour (Lincoln), Tassilo von Mueller (Hertford), Stroke: Felix Drinkall (Wolfson), Cox: Anna O’Hanlon (Somerville)

Cambridge Men’s Team

Bow: Matt Edge (St Catharine’s), Brett Taylor (Queens’), Noam Moulle (Hughes Hall), Seb Benzecry (Jesus), Thomas Lynch (Hughes Hall), Nick Mayhew (Peterhouse), Ollie Parish (Peterhouse), Stroke: Luca Ferraro (King’s), Cox: Jasper Parish (Clare)

By admin